Pie to the People!!

Okay Pie Eaters, I have a lot to tell you this week. First of all, this week’s pie was blueberry, and yes people, it was really good.

But what I really want to tell you is what this pie taught me. I decided to watch the video included with the recipe (see above) and it was REALLY helpful. However, I watched it after I made the pie, which was an interesting move…but next week’s pie will surely benefit. Here are the main things this week’s pie taught me:

1. Make sure the blueberries are dry! It doesn’t say this in the recipe but when I watched Martha’s video I noticed that her berries were a lot drier than mine. Martha probably dried each one with a soft, innocent kitten but for the people out here in reality I think this just means rinsing fruit and draining it the night before. The reason this is an issue is because blueberries are juicy. Cutting down on the amount of liquid involved would be helpful in getting a firm cooked filling that’s not too runny.

2. Buy your butter with intention! The recipe I used called for unsalted but I accidentally bought salted and instead of going back to the store, I just went with it. The pie was actually really good, and the saltiness of the crust balanced out the sweetness of the berries. However, the real issue was that because I was worried about there being too much salt in the pie, I didn’t add as much butter to the filling as instructed. My filling ended up being runnier than I wanted it to be. I think if I had added all the butter it would have been a little more congealed.

3. Don’t move the pie until it has COMPLETELY cooled. I made this mistake and some of the filling that had not cooled spilled onto the outer crust. Not a huge deal, but I aim to impress and I liked how my pie looked more sans stain.

Lastly, Ora and I were talking about the importance of pollinators yesterday and I wanted to share our thoughts with you, dear reader. Our lives depend on pollinators. No matter how engineered cultivated plants become, they still rely on pollination by highly mobile animals (bees, moths, bats, birds etc). This process cannot be replaced, or hasn’t been at least. What these winged warriors are doing is taking the sperm (in the pollen) of one flower and moving it to the egg (in the carpel) of another flower so they can swap genetics and make a baby (fruit)! I’ll say it again people, plants are smart, they have all kinds of ways of attracting pollinators from scent to nectar guides to flower markings. Flowers don’t kid. I mean really people, did you see that Bee Orchid? The flower is basically saying to the bee, “Hey come over here and hump me! I’m your bee dream date!” Way to go Bee Orchid, I’m impressed.

Okay Pie Eaters! I’ll see you next week when I plan to take my pie on the road!

8 thoughts on “Pie to the People!!

  1. Molly, I really love the stain on the crust. It is like a very unique birthmark or scar, makes the pie a lot more sexy in my opinion. I don’t think I would even look twice at the pie without the intrigue of that stain.

  2. Can we make pie requests! I’m really interested in doing some kind of sweet potatoe pie, but i’d love to have you try it out and let me know how it goes! This blueberry is definitely something im gonna try very soon…. Thanks for the lovely post!

    • I’m planning on making a sweet potato pie later in the season! I’m excited to see how it tastes from scratch. Also, you should try the salty honey pie, soooo delicious!! Let me know how the blueberry goes!!

  3. This pie-maker is a stitch! ( as well as a wonderful baker and all-around amazing person!) I love the thought of little purple-stained kittens scampering around Martha Stewart’s house! I also love being reminded of our connection to and dependence upon our fellow creatures and nature, in this case, pollinators. I also would just love to chomp down on a piece of that blueberry pie, right this second! love u- ima

    • Ima I love you!!! You are the true master-baker in my book! I feel honored that you read my post! Also, I would love to make you a pie. Any pie you want.

Leave a Reply

