Salty Honey Pie

People!!! Salty Honey Pie, it’s bangin’!! I took it to a pot-luck and it sure was a crowd-pleaser. But people, I need to be honest and tell you that making a custard pie can be anxiety inducing. This was my first attempt, and I learned a lot.

The baking part is what feels most stressful to me. It’s a little easier to know when a fruit pie is done because the fruit starts to bubble. However, with this pie, the recipe says, “The filling will puff up like a marshmallow and the center will be just slightly wobbly.” Sometimes, when instructions are too vague for me, I flash back to how I felt when taking physics exams in college (i.e. like barfing). Puff up like WHAT KIND of marshmallow? One that looks burnt or one that is white and soft? Like a cooked marshmallow or one fresh from the bag? Also, the center of what is wobbly?

Don’t worry. I found my mental safe space and calmed down. I waited until the filling puffed up and resembled a perfectly roasted marshmallow which was about 65 minutes in the oven. When I pulled it out the entire filling was slightly wobbly, not just the center of the filling. I let it cool for an hour and sprinkled with finishing salt. I found the kind the recipe suggested at a little market near my house, but any flaky finishing salt will do. Mine didn’t look as pretty as the one in the recipe but it was truly off-the-charts delicious, even if it wasn’t much of a looker.

Finally, geeky science fact time. This week, in honor of the ladies and gentlemen that worked so hard to make this pie possible, I would like to talk about bees! Did you know that a bee colony will visit around 2 million flowers to make one pound of honey? The term “busy bee” isn’t just alliteration, people – it’s honest to god fact. They also have this bonkers way of reproducing called a haplodiploid sex-determination system. It’s complicated, but basically means that the girl bees come from fertilized eggs and the boy bees come from unfertilized eggs. I’m going to leave you with this quote:

“This haplodiploid sex-determination system produces a number of peculiarities; chief among these is that a male has no father and cannot have sons, but he has a grandfather and can have grandsons.” (Haplodiploid sex-determination system,” Wikipedia)

Dear reader, welcome to galaxy brain.

5 thoughts on “Salty Honey Pie

  1. Dear Lady of the Pie, thank you for helping me expand my botanical and biological knowledge as along with my palate. Being the pudding fan that I am (see Sonny’s post!), I appreciate the talk of puffing and jiggling involved in this pie. I also am a HUGE fan of salty-sweetness. Im jealous of those who got to taste this gem.

  2. My goodness! What WILL you think of next? You certainly keep me anticipatin’, Miss Molly! ( not to mention guffawing right out loud!) I think your salty honey pie is beautiful, and, in fact, resembles a really yummy sunflower-face! ( the bees would go bonkers!) Keep on pie-makin, you little honey. love, ima

  3. Yikes! I’m freaked out about how excited i am to take thisrecipe on…the only thing is…what in gods name is vanilla paste? did u use it in your recipe? could i replace it w/ vanilla extract (obviously not…..right?)

Leave a Reply

