Peach Pie

This week’s pie post is dedicated to my sister Rebecca Kane who is getting married this weekend. I asked Bex (as I call her) what is her favorite kind of pie. “Peach or blueberry,” she responded over text message. So I went for the peach. This is a picture of us when we were much younger. I’m the older one.

My memories of peaches date back to New Years 2000. A group of friends and I decided we wanted to have nothing to do with New York City at the turn of the millennium so we decided to road trip down to Georgia where a friend had a house for us to party in. My first impressions of Georgia, or Atlanta as I drove into the city was that every street name had something to do with peaches. Peachtree road. Peach drive. Peach lane. I mean I guess if you live there you don’t get confused…”meet you on the corner of peach and peach?” And you would know exactly what they meant. I on the other hand found it rather confusing and odd. I mean show pride for the peach, but diversify your street names.

I found this week’s pie recipe a bit more challenging than last week’s. The graham cracker crust that I made last week I had made before. This was my first regular ole piecrust. I combined in my kitchen aid mixer (although I think a food processor could have been better) 1 ½ cups of all purpose flour, 1 tbsp of sugar, ½ teaspoon of salt, ¾ stick of butter, diced, 1/3 cup of shortening frozen and diced, and 3 ½ tbsp of ice water. The dough came out a bit moist; this could be because I forgot to add some of the flour and put it in at the end or because my shortening was not so frozen. I let the dough sit in the fridge for an hour, but it still was a bit tough to roll out. Instead, I sort of pressed it into the pie plate.

I bought 7 peaches at the local farmer’s market near where I work. They came from Wilklow Orchards. Yay, for locally grown. Then I realized I needed one more. So, the 8th came from Key Food. I peeled the peaches and cut into one-inch slices. I tossed the peaches with ¾ cup of sugar, 2 tbsp of quick-cookie tapioca, ¾ teaspoon cinnamon, ¼ tsp cardamom, ¼ tsp nutmeg, and 1 ½ tsp lemon juice. Let it stand for about 20 minutes and tossed the peaches occasionally. I then poured the peaches into the pie crust.

For the topping I combined 3 tbsp of packed light brown sugar, ½ tsp cinnamon, ¼ tsp salt, and 5 tbsp. melted unsalted butter. I crumbled the mixture on top of the pie. Baked the pie at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, then covered and am cooking for an hour at 350.

The pie cooks as I write and I can’t wait to share it with my sister and the rest of the folks I’ll see this week. Thanks so much to Ora and Molly for inviting me to post on Pie Time. B’tei Avon!

Leave a Reply

